YO (1)

 

Assessment of Progress

The first week was supposed to be my finding inspiration week, and most of what I’ve done is watch anything that will hopefully give me inspiration. This was also the week where I make layouts with the hopes that it would be my final layout. Unfortunately, I haven’t made a final layout, but I did make some that could be.

(1) My first layout that I made in school that was based on a photo I took while I was at the library watching “Whisper of the Heart” by Studio Ghibli. This one will most likely be dropped.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 10.09.14 PM.png17409828_1690356667648089_1511675966_n.jpg

(2) Layout I made at home. I was at the living room watching the news while using my computer and wearing earphones. I thought it was weird of me to do that, and I had a sudden thought that what I was doing totally fit the theme of my piece. This is most likely to become the official layout if I don’t get any ideas from my head anymore.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.29.41 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-03-19 at 7.00.52 PM.png

I’ll explain the details of the layout someday, but right now, I don’t think anybody could understand what I made. Plus, the composition of the work in general isn’t refined yet.

(10:06pm) You can see the time on the screenshots, all of them are actually seperate files from one another. The last picture is actually the one I technically modified today.


Difficulties

Actually, from the beginning I thought of the project, I had a layout in mind, but when I was trying to do it, it wasn’t developing well, I became a bit dejected.

I’ve been getting a lot of artist blocks, and it’s annoying. I actually ended up watching almost all of the Studio Ghibli movies just to get inspirations. It helped a bit, especially with the style, but other than that, I still don’t have much ideas.

I was reading some of my friends’ pitch and I got a bit depressed since what I’m doing is pretty normal or “easy.” Most of them will be doing something grand, and I would’ve loved to do something similar to theirs but I just don’t think the time and my abilities would be able to do it.


Highlights

♦ I got my style down

Not entirely related to the project, but I watched (illegally *cough*) a lot of musicals, movies, and animé.

I did complain a lot about getting artist block, but I did get some inspiration. I hate the idea of making my work look to0 “animè,” but now that I think about it (and since one of my inspiration right now is YEO KAA) making it look cartoon-ish isn’t so bad

♦ Theme is all good

I got the theme of the piece all set. I have a clear idea what the feel is supposed to be. But it might not convey the same way with the audience, but we’ll see.

Illegal brushes is wow

I saw some Photoshop brushes online, and they were so pretty. They were almost identical to the brushes the web comic “Uy Si Crush!” uses. But it cost money, and while I was at a fine arts class, I saw someone using the exact same brush set, and I asked them if I could have them, so they gave me a copy.

Shh….


(9:11pm) Late night updates. I apologize for the grammatical errors, I’ll fix them after I get some sleep.

2 thoughts on “YO (1)

Leave a Reply

