P*TCH

Title

The thing is, I want the work to be more of conceptual work. I do not plan on naming it something like “Untitled” or something similar. The work will not be minimalist, so the title is going to be pretentious and definitely subject to change. 

The title is: Suffocating Myself with the Idea of Misfortune


Abstract

Do you know the short story, “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas” by Ursula K. Le Guin?

Omelas is a utopia of your choice, it could have an orgy for all anybody cared, but it is what it is because of the suffering of a child isolated somewhere in the utopia, living unloved surrounded by their own shit. Everybody is aware of that child’s existence and its purpose. So there are people, young and old, who leave the utopia to the unknown, away from the city that’s filled with happiness due to the suffering of one. If you lived in Omelas, would you leave too?

My future art piece will be a digital work (pop art and appropriation art) talking about the short story in the real, especially in the Philippine situation. Showing how people know they live comfortable lives because of the suffering of others, but don’t do anything substantial anyway. There are people who actually do something, but there are many who do nothing. What would I do, you ask? I’m the same as the many, I am part of the problem. Although it seems as though the piece might sound like a work that questions society, it actually a work that questions myself.


Framework

I’m going to make a work that is mostly supposed to question our society and yourself into thinking about your own situation compared to others, although it may not look like that at first. That’s because it’s actually a piece where I will question myself on how I think about our world when you think about it in the narrative of Omelas. Why am I doing this though? It’s because questioning our reality and our actions will help us think, and that’s what I want to portray in the art piece. While questioning my own thoughts, I want others to try to also question their own.

Although, it doesn’t seem necessary, I try to ask others of their opinion of their short story and ask them what they would do if they lived in that universe. There are people who say that they would leave and those who would stay, and then I would try to apply the short story in real life, there are some who hesitate, and that intrigues me. The idea of questioning yourself, that thought is what I want the work to become.

The idea of the piece being digital is actually mostly because I’m comfortable with it, but also because it’s meant to be spread around, although printing the work is not out of the question. I’m still in the process of trying to find a layout for the work, but it will definitely consist of contrasting elements that later balance each other, based on how I end up doing it. For reference, it will have cartoon-ish elements that are bright and filled with pastels similar to a Filipino artist named YEO KKA, with her works like “Drowning Myself To Sleep.” Works that are, although bright looking based on the style, is actually pretty dark. And then this style will contrast and balance itself with realism like photography which will most likely have less bright colors or elements.

 drowning_myself_to_sleep_by_yeokaa-d97lgbq.jpg

(photo from: YEO KKA’s deviant art)


Methodology

♦ Output

As said before, I will mostly use computer/digital art to produce the piece. It will be a combination of me illustrating, and appropriating or manipulating photos taken by the media or by myself. The dimension of the piece would probably around the same as “F-111” by James Rosenquist or “Whaam!” by Roy Lichtenstein. I don’t have a plan (yet) to get it printed especially since those two works that was referenced have large dimensions.

♦ Method of Data Collection

Well, I don’t have any data to put on my art work yet, but the way of documentation will stay here in my WordPress page, so I guess expect a lot of unnecessary posts of me watching some musical that got me hooked or something. The documentation will be put in separate categories and tags to organize it. Since the work will just be computer/digital art, the documentation will probably mostly consist of screenshot, photographs, and drafts (since I’ll be illustrating).

♦ Process and Timeline (13 to 31 March)

Uhm. Seeing as how my entire work will be digital, I do not really have to worry about the materials as much as others besides the photographs. So essentially, the materials really are: my laptop, my tablet, and my phone (to take pictures, IPhone camera is bomb~)

I will divide all my time into three (meaning 3 weeks):

1st week (13-18 March): This week will be on the collection of the necessary materials or references, this means photographs mostly. This week will also be when I try to layout my work, try to find a way to balance out everything given a specific frame. Also, not lying, this will also probably be just when I just watch/look at some Netflix shows, anime, drama, other art works, etc. in the hopes of getting some inspiration.

2nd week (19-25 March): I would have finalize the layout at this point and all the materials I will use, but it doesn’t mean I’m not open to other changes anymore. I will attempt at making the actual piece at this week and try to get opinions from other people with my first few attempts and try to actually finish it.

3rd week (26-31 March): Hopefully, I would be done before this week even comes, but this week is meant to be when I actually do the final piece if my first few attempts did not make the cut based one my standard and opinions of some people. But If I were to be done before this week even comes, it’s meant to really finalize it, try to fix anything if there are any problems and change anything if necessary.


Useless Notes

  • I don’t know how many times I’ve linked that short story (hue hue)
  • I haven’t told my parents about this project yet because I know they’re going to bother me about it, and actually want to get it printed and framed.
  • I found out about YEO KKA because my FA-AM 101.1 and apparently she was featured in the Art Fair 2017 in Makati.
  • I was going to name this blog post “PITCH PERFECT” but I saw that someone already made the reference.
  • It says that I posted this blog post on 3 March 2017, because I had this post on private this whole time. I was suppose to remove the private-ness on the night of the submission but I ended up sleeping, sorry.
14 thoughts on “P*TCH

  1. I think there’s a huge potential in eventually printing it & framing it, but that’s a decision you can make much later. I’m really excited to see this work!

    STATUS: APPROVED.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. also, I think that you should start sketching up some layouts na in the first week pa lang, you might get mind blocked in the second week and can’t account for casualties. un lang, good luck alyssa!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. seemed a bit too edgy at first but after reading the purpose of the work and the issue it aimed to address it really changed the playing field. I completely agree with how you’re going to go about it and I’m really excited to see the output 🙂 : ) 🙂

    suggestion lang with documentation or sharing in social media: make multiple art sharing accounts (deviantart, behance, pinterest, instagram, etc.) para lang mas maraming publicity 🙂 good luck san matuloy to ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahuehue ang bait mo Adrian, hindi ako sanay. I’ll think about using social media as way to document, maybe a twitter account since it’s what I use a lot. (ノ≧∀≦)ノ Ty

      Like

  3. I really like the parallel connection you are going for in this work. Given the planned large dimensions of your proposed output you may disregard this, but maybe it would give more impact if you focused on a specific sector of relationships of Philippine society (e.g. hacienda owners and marginalized farmers, big business owners and contractual workers, etc.) Maybe in doing so will it concretize your message a little bit more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the idea. I’ll think about it. ❤⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )
      I was planning more of a general aspect of the Philippines, but your suggestion is a good idea too

      Like

  4. I like that you’re going for the dark theme/light illustration style. Your line of inquiry is also quite intriguing to me and strikes me as something that could get very political and (possibly) influence how some people think of government/power/people in power.

    Looking forward to some updates on this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

