TTYL

Rationale

Congratulations to me! My final medium of choice is now officially Computer art (or digital art). Although it seems like it could also be considered mixed media because of its blurred distinction with other media such as illustration, photography, etc.

The art piece would eventually fall under Pop art or Appropriation art because of its use of mass culture. I do not plan on using too many elements of art that may make the piece seem avant-garde since it’s suppose to be a work meant for the general public to understand, thus it will have kitsch elements. Although I said that I would like the work to be on the blurred line between “high” and “low” art, the art piece would still have integration of my own personal feelings towards the topic of inquiry.

The reason for the medium choice is still the same as my other posts. Since it’s the information/digital age, it’s just appropriate that I use such, and because I’m an Information Design student.

Write-ups

The first 3 art pieces are the pieces that fall under the medium/form/genre of the art work I wish to create soon (unfortunately, I don’t think any of the 3 are actually created using computer art although they do look like they could be one.)


T00897_10.jpg

1. “Whaam!” by Roy Lichtenstein (1963) is a pop art. The artist used commercial sources such as comics and advertisement draw serious issues with unusual techniques. That’s what I want my art work to feel like at the end, using detached techniques to portray issues that are serious. But it’s also because this style of art is what I like the most, removing the context behind the work.


Art Fair 2_7.jpg

2. For this art piece, I unfortunately do not know who created it. All I’m sure is that it was exhibited in Art Fair Philippines, Feb 16-19, 2017. But looking at the other works at the event and the piece itself, I cannot say or see what it could be portraying, but it is using techniques similar to what I want to do. I don’t know what the medium is, it could be computer art and photo manipulation, but judging from the sides of the work, it’s more likely to be a painting that looks very photo realistic. Rather than trying to emulate the feeling behind the work, it’s more like I want the quality of my piece to be similar to this.

(9:34pm): This whole time I thought that was a head of a raccoon, but my sister laughed at me and then corrected me saying that it’s a lemur. This edit isn’t actually important, I just wanted to say it.


IN2180

3. “F-111” by James Rosenquist (1964) is another pop art. According to The Museum of Modern Art, the piece was “Inspired by advertising billboards and by earlier mural-scaled paintings, […] Rosenquist took as his subject the F-111 fighter bomber plane, the newest, most technologically advanced weapon in development at the time, and positioned it, as he later explained, ‘flying through the flak of consumer society to question the collusion between the Vietnam death machine, consumerism, the media, and advertising.'” What I love about this piece the most is that it actually fits my initial idea for my art piece, talking about society using popular culture.


4. I was watching Bo Burnham’s comedy act on Netflix called “MAKE HAPPY,” and I really like the last song he played called “Can’t Handle This (Kanye Rant).”  It was suppose to be a parody of something Kanye West does at the end of his concerts where he “rants” about his problem. Bo Burnham’s song starts off with a bunch of rants about irrelevant things like how his hand can’t fit inside a Pringle can (#1stWorldProblems) in order to make the audience laugh but eventually drifts away from that and starts talking about his actual hardships and the stability of his mental health. I don’t know how it really connects to my piece, but I just really like how a supposed comedy song turns to an actual commentary of an artist (in this case, Bo Burnham) work of pleasing a crowd. I just like the actual underlying message of something that wasn’t suppose to be taken seriously.

Actually, a lot of Bo Burnham’s songs are similar, they sound like something you shouldn’t take seriously, but they then end up having a deep message behind them. (He also ends up making fun of things trying to sounds deep, with his song called “#Deep” Σ(ノ°▽°)ノ )


5.  I’ve been listening to a song called “Lost” by Lido.  It has a EDM/electronic music sound to it (actually, I’ve been listening to a lot of electronic music lately.) Rather than the meaning of the song helped me or something, I just really like the music and the sound. Isn’t it soothing? A member of my favorite Kpop band recommended one of Lido’s songs on their twitter account and I’ve just been listening to his album non-stop. I know it may sound absurd, but I want my art piece to have that kind of vibe, despite being electronic, it gives me a sense of nostalgia. I can’t accurately explain the vibe it gives me, but I want to emulate it.


6. Lastly, it would be weird not to talk about the work the art piece is supposed to be inspired about, “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas” by Ursula K. Le Guin. The story is mainly there to create a sense of thinking process about the things around us and how we are to react to them. My work will most likely to be a sort of response or just inspiration of the work about my own thought about the literature.


(9:40pm): I just realized that what I wrote was probably too long. But I’m too sleepy, and it’s too late to try to shorten it. So, I’m sorry. hue hue hue

3 thoughts on “TTYL

Leave a Reply

